Saturday, November 7, 2015

73s From the Evergreen State

Here is a zine / book / pamphlet that rocks my eclectic sense of wonder - 73s from the Evergreen State by Jordan Smith, published by Public Collectors, a visual tour into the world of CB Radio QSL cards.

I have a collection of shortwave QSL cards from international and pirate shortwave stations I have heard over the years - but CB Radio QSLs? Where was I back in the day? And why wasn't I on CB? Fascinating glimpses here into the personalities of the public airwaves with cards from numerous artists. A must read for any radiohead.

Tuesday, November 3, 2015

Mixt Media Review: Unableto by David Thomas Broughton

David Thomas Broughton
Antiquated Future

Visually, this is a stunning and beautiful release with an emerald cassette and a glassine, vellum insert. Musically, Unableto is a journey through the wasteland of the psyche. I wish this tape had a lyric sheet included. I also wish there was less squelch & noise and more clarity – there is melodious, seething life here which needs to be heard. About ¾ of the way through the journey, Unableto becomes a proggy new age instrumental. Intrigue abounds. 

Saturday, October 31, 2015

Mixt Media Review: Tucker Theodore

Tucker Theodore
To Make the Sun Hurt cassette
available from

This incident might be from another lifetime. Perhaps it was sometime in the 1990’s. A man in the apartment next door is fiddling with an amplifier and an old tape recorder. You hear his howls through the wall. Maybe he’s been listening to Bonnie Prince Billie. Maybe he’s secretly Jandek. You don’t know him very well, you mumble "hi" to him at the mailbox & don’t make eye contact. At one point he starts whistling along with the thrum of his guitar. His voice sounds like it’s echoing out of a coal mine. The batteries run down in the tape recorder and he stops singing. You’re not sure what you just overheard, yet it haunts you like surrealistic dreams of clouds. 

Saturday, October 24, 2015

Where You From #4

Where You From #4
News from Home
New Hampshire in the 80’s

Review: Hope has created another absorbing issue of Where You From, forty pages of histories and reminiscences of growing up in the Granite State, my place in the world. Through several chapters, Hope documents her recollections and impressions of the Challenger space shuttle disaster, the police brutality against Rodney King, an out-of-control murder of a local family man by police in Hudson, Ram Dass in New Hampshire, and more. Peppered throughout are grainy black & white images that perfectly accentuate the histories that Hope explores. Where You From #4 is a lovely and provocative zine.

Commentary: I grew up in and have lived 99% of my life within the geographic boundaries we call New Hampshire. Though I was a young adult with three children during the era that Hope describes, it is almost as if we lived in two different states and two different times. I grew up in southern New Hampshire and was acutely aware of the social injustices going on both nationally and next door. Most of my family’s friends were non-white, non-wealthy, and some were non-neurotypical. Where Hope states that “…this is why we get out, to see a bigger picture, to understand more …” I think: this is why some of us stay (in New Hampshire) or in our home towns … because the bigger picture is not outside of us, somewhere else, it is within our hearts.

email for more information: 

Saturday, October 17, 2015

Night of Nights by Little Cobweb

Angela has embarked on a creative path & shares her musical / artistic / soulmate longings in her mini-zine night of nights. Since your reviewer is approaching elderhood, I was pleased to find within the beautiful hand-drawn illustrations in night of nights a list of fifty songs for slow dancing ... songs I actually know, including a few surprising ones. Percy Faith in the same list as Nina Simone? I'm in heaven.

night of nights is hand drawn and hand written and bound with thread. It feels ephemeral, like an autumn gust might blow the pages away. Yet before it does, please, someone, make the vegan mint kiss cookies!

This zine is also released in video format & features real vinyl records. Heaven again. This is exactly the kind of project that Ye Olde DJ Frederick loves ... a combination of indie music, visuals, art and the written word.



Contact Email:

Wednesday, September 23, 2015

Bizarrism 14

Each edition of Bizarrism is an inclusive, bordering on encyclopedic, compendium of true (and bizarre!) stories from around the world. For fourteen issues Chris Mikul has reported on topics are diverse as Sea Monkeys, The Shaggs, and the Mystery of the Somerton Man. Chris approaches his work as a journalist in a scholarly manner. His articles and essays brim with information, and are pointers to elements of history that often escape our notice.

Issue #14 includes articles on the debauched world of Francoise Dior, the religious empire of Sun Myung Moon, and the strange rise of atheism and Madelyn Murray O’Hair. Chris also explores the legacy of Philippine dictator Ferdinand Marcos. Mikul also delves into the fascinating world of prolific graphic artist / would-be soul musician Mingering Mike, and reviews Jim Elledge’s book Henry Darger, Throwaway Boy: The Tragic Life of an Outsider Artist.

For more information write to:

Chris Mikul
PO Box K546
Haymarket NSW 1240


Tuesday, September 22, 2015

A Kind Request from Ye Olde DJ

Zine reviews are forthcoming ... however in the interim I am battling poverty and living with zero income or savings. All of my energy is going into job hunting ...

I would be grateful if any generous folks out there could send me a few stamps via the postal service ... first class, second ounce, international first class, postcard stamps ... I literally can not even afford to send out zines or letters at this point.

Thank you for your consideration.

Thursday, July 30, 2015

a few mini reviews for a heat wave

Bookin' It DIY by Allysa G
a responsible guide$4.00 /14 pages/ Half size

Time to dip into my recent archives & write a few reviews. July heat has been intense; not weather that is conducive to reading (unless maybe you're stretched out beneath a tree in a hammock). These zines, however, are perfect for a breezy summer read. 

DIY type zines tend to be my favorite genre. If you're interested in booking bands and musicians, Bookin' It DIY will get you pointed in the right direction with clear, useful information. Folks playing music for one another is a complete joy & a way to stave off the tyranny of the music "industry". WHat better time for a concert under the stars than Summer?

How to Send a Letter is a fun mini-zine that reminds us there are a million ways to send a letter. Or ... you can just send one! I found this one on etsy.  

Another mini-zine treasure I found on etsy not too long ago is Gatherer: A Pocket Foraging Handbook by Isabella Rotman. Mother Earth created everything we need for our survival. One doesn't need a PhD in botany to learn how to feed yourself in the woods and fields.  Gatherer: A Pocket Foraging Handbook is a beautifully lettered and illustrated guide to common wild foods: wild leeks, dandelions, fiddleheads & more. Concise, yet packed with useful tips and a brisk, enjoyable zine. 

When all else fails during a heat wave you can enjoy a nice cool ... ginger beer! Annie Soga has written and illustrated a fantastic field guide to ginger ales, packed with historical info and beverage reviews. Lots of love (and tasting) went into this zine - gorgeously printed and presented; if I weren't on a self-imposed nutrition plan, I would be sipping some Chelmsford Golden Ginger Ale right now (which wasn't reviewed in this zine.) 

Sunday, July 19, 2015

July Musings

Once again I find myself at a crossroads ... considering zine projects, and how to best spend my energy now that I am once again unemployed, trying to survive, and searching for full-time employment.

I've been a member of the American Amateur Press Association for several years & have spent 18 months as their official mailer. I am now President-Elect of the AAPA by default (there were no other candidates). Somehow I feel like I've just been handed the job of Captain of the Titanic at about 2:15 am on 15 April 1912.

I've had almost zero success with attracting the zine community to the AAPA, mostly because the zine community does not seem to understand the no-money-changes-hands nature of the AAPA. We give our journals, zines, art and printing projects away freely. No one sells anything. No one buys anything. We simply share.

If the "zine community" has an anti-capitalist streak, as I've read about in numerous places, I've not seen it - and that's been a serious disappointment. What will I read now that I am seriously broke & unable to buy zines? Who will trade with me? Who will send me zines out of the kindness of their heart? How will I even afford stamps? With my bank account in the negative, I have to stare down my demons & ask for help, which is not part of my stoic New Hampshire Yankee grain.

Stay tuned.

Sunday, June 28, 2015

How to Make Radio #2

How to Make Radio #2
by Julie Sabatier

Julie is a veteran radio producer creating shows and segments for community and public radio stations. Julie’s zine is clear, concise, and an excellent orientation to developing audio for radio or podcasting. Topics covered in this zine include your radio voice, editing audio, creative commons music, and funding your show / podcast. Some of the technical information in How to Make Radio #2 may be outdated (tips on using software and recording using iPhone devices). The downside of this zine is that Julie seems to be a shill for NPR podcasts, which are sometimes creative but more often formulaic and dependent upon pleasing corporate funders. Still, everyone is entitled to an opinion (and that’s ye old zine reviewer’s!). How to Make Radio #2 is available from Portland Button Works.

Tuesday, June 23, 2015


My apologies for not having an image to accompany this review, couldn't find one easily on Google! 

The 13 Zine is a quarter-sized monthly compilation that appears on the 13th day of each solar month, curated by Lucy Stone / Sequoia LeBreux. The edition I have in hand (dated 6-13-15) features photography, collage, poetry and prose done in classic cut-n-paste style. The writing is vibrant & imagery vivid. The 13 Zine would be a welcomed presence in the mailbox & on the reading list every month! 

Digital copies are available from

Submissions are welcomed at 

Wednesday, May 27, 2015

OSR Catalog #1 Spring 2015

Zach Phillips has taken his music company (OSR) offline & produced an actual paper catalog of OSR releases. Be still my beating heart! And ... the catalog doubles as a zine with numerous contributors commenting on the brave move of taking a music label offline in the digital age and useful descriptions of available releases. OSR offers vinyl, cds and cassettes from New England based artists that include the prolific songwriter Chris Weisman, folk-psych magician Ruth Garbus, CE Schneider Topical & other bands you need to discover if you haven't already! Send a buck or two or a self-addressed stamped envelope (with two ounce postage) to: Zach Phillips PO Box 370352 Brooklyn NY 11237-0352

Monday, May 18, 2015


Kari Tarvo, zine-maker of Shards of Glass in Your Eye fame, has published two cool mini-zines - Finnglish Life Finnish-American Style & Finnglish 2 More Life Finnish-American Style. And when I say "cool", I might mean downright frozen. Kari is your tourguide to a new culture (unless of course, you are Finnish-American, in which case I suggest you write your own zine. In fact, everyone reading this blog - STOP READING RIGHT NOW and GO WRITE YOUR OWN ZINE!!!!

I'll wait.

Ok, done? Send it to me for review. 

Ever heard of F.U.? Or the Keweenah Peninusla? What? You're from there? Sheesh.

This winter, even my Norwegian blood almost froze. I needed a Sauna!

Seriously, send Kari a few bucks, some stamps, a zine or three, and read these wonderful zines on Finn culture. There will be a pop quiz afterwards, and the winner gets to sample Pannukakku.

Kari can be found via snail mail: PO Box 7831 Beverly Hills CA 90212. 

Sunday, May 17, 2015

Book Review: Krylon Underground 1984 - 1992

(Saint) Bob German's Krylon Underground 1984-1992 is an ambitious project, compiling all of the extant issues of his zine into a 288 page, over-sized trade softcover. From a purely archivist perspective, this compilation is massive and all inclusive. The style of Krylon Underground is surrealist & literate, peppered with provocative graphics, poetry, announcements for other zines, political pronouncements, and visual improvisations on the page.

Given the heft of this project, as a reader in 2015, I don't find much substance to relate to within its pages.This zine feels like an old friend, yet one that you parted ways with two decades ago. Krylon Underground has a vague "leftist" tone, but nothing that borders on radical thought. The content is so random that it is difficult to get enthusiastic about reading more than a few pages at a stretch. The zine feels so unfocused that after spending time with this compilation, I really can not tell you what it is about, other than an exercise in nostalgia, nor can I interpret whether it has any relevance to zine readers in the here & now. Krylon Underground readers from back in the day must know something that I don't. 

As we evolve as individuals, the things we embrace change, and we become heretics and hermetics in our own lives. Everything moves forward, we inhabit a brave new world. Krylon Underground inhabits a brave old world, and we have to ask whether we want to revisit that chaotic time and place. If so, take comfort that Krylon Underground is waiting for you. 

Saturday, May 9, 2015

Thrifty Times #27

Thrifty Times is a monthly zine published by Sarah MacDonald in Allston MA. Each issue explores Sarah's favorite thrift finds. If clowns make you nervous, read no further! Just kidding. Most issues of Thrifty Times have a "theme" and the March 2015 theme is clowns. Sarah launches the issue with her customary Dear Readers section, then unveils a creepy clown pillow, hand stitched by someone with the initials CSS. Nick Burgess discusses the book "The Book of American Types" discovered at a thrift shop, and there's a review of the LP "The Klowns" in the Record Roundup Section. Sarah also reviews ten comedy LPs scored at thrift shops. Every edition of Thrifty Times is well written and a lot of fun to read. Recipes! Games! Comics! Romance books! What's not to love? Now get thee to a Goodwill ... and find me a shofar! 

Saturday, May 2, 2015

Free magazine offer!

Even if you are not an aficionado of opera, The Opera Glass, edited by Iris Arnesen, is a beautiful and informative journal that is both educational and completely absorbing. Each issue features a wealth of information opening into the world of opera, theater, music and literary arts. I won't ramble on extolling the virtues of this gorgeous journal, I'd prefer that you discover The Opera Glass for yourself. For a limited time, if One Minute Zine Review readers send $2 for postage I will send you a sample issue of The Opera Glass. If you enjoy this journal, subscriptions from Iris are free (though donations are helpful). See you at the mailbox. 

Wednesday, April 29, 2015

Secret Order of the Caboose

Caboose #9
Masons On Masons:
How to Start a Secret Society
By Liz and Joe Mason
48 pages / half-letter / $3
PO Box 477553
Chicago IL 60647

Recently ye olde zine reviewer has embarked upon learning about what is behind the social / political veils in our culture – particularly the role played by underground yet hidden in plain sight groups like the Freemasons. Such research could spiral into a lifetime of diversions – there are so many groups, so little time. Therefore, when I spotted Caboose #9 Masons On Masons: How to Start a Secret Society at the venerable Antiquated Future website, I ordered it without hesitation.

Written in a style that is both smart & smart-ass, the Masons may give you some ideas about how to create your own nerdy group, order, lodge, happening, etc. All of the bases are covered: groundrules, membership, language, mirthful activity and even secret handshakes. Yet what I had hoped to find here was more actual substance about Freemasonry, The Illuminati (though reading about its book-club origins was intriguing), and other elites & followers of our day that seem to wield power and influence in our bizarre and unwieldy culture. For example: who were the Oddfellows and am I related to them?

Ok, I’m off to organize the Freemen of Kearsarge Mountain Lodge. I’d tell you when & where the first meeting is, but then I’d have to kill you.

Did the NSA just read this? I’m fucked.

Monday, April 13, 2015

Proof I Exist #19

Proof I Exist #19 is the latest in a series of zines created by Billy, turning the paper camera on events and happenings in his life. Issue #19 is a time capsule from January 2015 when Billy pranked Albuquerque with a groceries on the car roof trick, played a punk rock gig with his band, and invented Zinester Trading Cards. And that’s just for starters! Billy writes Proof I Exist in a friendly, creatively honest, engaging style – he packs a lot of living in each day and invites us along to be the artists of our own lives. For more information on Proof I Exist check out:

Monday, March 9, 2015

Cunieform APA update

Cuneiform APA: Collecting Unique Notes Expressing Ideas For Original Reading Material. Cuneiform APA is open to anyone who participates by sending up to 4 pages on a tri-quarterly basis. Due dates for Cuneiform are February 1, June 1, October 1. Mail out of each edition will occur during February, June and October. Contributors are welcome to send up to 4 double-sided printed 8 X 11 pages of original material related to the following topics:  Zines & Zine Reviews Micro journals and presses Issues related to paper publishing / publishing in general in the digital age Obscure and lesser known books, authors, zines, and music, DIY, letters and writing / Postal service / Mail art & other topics related to philosophy, reading, life, liberty, the universe, & everything. Poetry or fiction at the discretion of the Official Editor. The Official Editor decides whether material submitted is thematically relevant for the APA. The current (interim) Official Editor is Frederick Moe. Please mail 40 copies of your material to 36 West Main Street Warner NH 03278. Copies of Cuneiform will be mailed to each participant who contributes material and a few dollars toward mailing costs.

Sunday, October 12, 2014

Paper & Ink #3

Martin Appleby has produced a third volume of the literary zine Paper & Ink. This edition holds the theme "Destination Unknown". I've probably mentioned this in previous reviews - one of the reasons I admire this zine is the fact that it is not online, not downloadable, not available on Kindle ... it exists exclusively via paper and ink. In the current digital-or-die era, publishing old-school is an act of revolution in and of itself.

As with most thematic zines, the material in Pen & Ink #3 Destination Unknown both works and doesn't work depending on your perspective. Some of the standout contributions for me are a short fiction piece called Immortal by Amy Kisner and some potent poems by Raif Mansell and Gwil James Thomas. You, however, may find other gems in this issue according to your literary taste. I've probably said this before too: with Pen & Ink, Martin is showing aspiring lit zine editors / publishers how it is done.

Primitive Toothcare

This is a brief introduction to oral hygiene written by Rowan Walking Wolf for dental care without toothpastes, toothbrushes, and modern chemicals. When fluoride and other compounds in our water, toothpaste, and products are making us ill, we need to reclaim our health in whatever ways possible.
Primitive Toothcare: A DIY Guide to Uncivilized Oral Hygiene shows how to use widely available plants for their astringent properties to clean, soothe, and heal teeth and gums.  Say goodbye to the dentist and hello to self care that is proven to be effective at preventing cavities and gum disease. Excellent resource available via .

Saturday, September 13, 2014

Strangury #1

Strangury #1 August 2014
Chris Sitko
212 Rock Ave Hawthorne NJ 07506
$ 1 US
trades: accepted
size: 8.5 X 5.5 / 12 pages

“All the news that’s fit to be mocked” is the tagline for Strangury #1, a new zine created by Chris Sitko. Chris has a knack for satirizing the news you’ll read in mainstream newspapers or watch on CNN – exaggeration that actually points out the realities of how the media tells their stories. In Strangury #1 we get a sarcastic look at the David & Goliath saga of Palestine and Israel, police brutality, and the insanity of corporations being given more rights than human beings. Is Strangury #1 mockery, or simply pulling back the curtain on the facade? 

Send well concealed cash & a nice letter to Chris at the address above, or send him an email. Cool update: Strangury Issue #2 is officially in the works! 

Friday, August 22, 2014

Zine Review: Red Kitty Volume Two

A few decades ago, writer Margot Adler chronicled the new American pagan movement in her book Drawing Down the Moon. Scores of zines like Green Egg promoted new thought and new spirituality. It seemed as if we as a culture might dawn into an age of Aquarius.

Perhaps I am jaded, but it feels like now (2014), any belief north of Christianity in this country is shunned, ridiculed, dismissed, or even persecuted. Red Kitty Volume Two: Sycorax is both a welcome specter, yet alternately frustrating.

Visually, Red Kitty Volume Two is absolutely gorgeous, including black & white and color photography. The content leaves me scratching my head, and I guess is not to be taken seriously despite the editorial introduction which states "This issue has a fun spirit ... but it was the desire to reclaim 'witch' as a symbol of power, not derision, that led us to choose Sycorax as our theme."

So, within its pages we are treated (or maybe tricked) to a list of the ten best witches ever (most of whom are fictional - why does one need fictional witches when there are so many flesh & blood witches to celebrate?) and ... some silly "spells" found on the internet. Even the photographic portfolio titled "Elementals" seems like it belongs in a zine that parodies pagan poseurs. I'm confused as to the actual intent behind Red Kitty Volume Two ... it disappoints whether it's meant to be serious or humorous or both simultaneously.  

You can find a copy here: 

Monday, August 11, 2014

Mishap 33 Volume 2

It's punks vs. nerds ... no ... wait! Look! Up in the sky! It's ... Mishap #33 Volume Two!!!

I've been basking in zine goodness recently & I want to shout out much appreciation out for Ryan Mishap who sent part two of Mishap #33. How many zines can claim to have a volume two of the same issue? Tis a rarity indeed.

Volume Two continues the book review format. Ryan closes his introduction to this edition by saying "One thing has never changed about me: I always wonder and ask why. And I usually turn to books for the answers."

Bibliographic zines are a joy - and Ryan's reviews are concise, describing in varying detail the essence of books he has read.  Once again, beautiful black & white panoramas of Ryan's travels provide a visual break from the text and could comprise a zine of their own.

Write to Ryan for more information on his zines: PO Box 5841 Eugene OR 97405.

Sunday, August 3, 2014

Stink Eye vs. Operations Manual split zine

What’s better than reading an issue of Operations Manual or Stink Eye? Reading both in a split zine! Jesse Hogan and Marx Aviano are two exceptionally creative zinesters & have joined forces to express their perspectives on their lives in 2013. Marx has a sense of humor that is just twisted enough for me to appreciate – yet there is an undercurrent of pointing towards serious issues in our culture that need urgent attention. Like yesterday!!!

Jesse creates visually stimulating collage work & inspired visuals. She includes zine reviews and a tribute to the death of film as we knew it. I hope that there are future collaborations planned – every page is a delight. Now, stop reading this review & go forth on the interwebs & find a copy. Scram! Get!   

Saturday, August 2, 2014

Zine Review: Reglar Wiglar #22

Reglar Wiglar #22
Chris Auman
8.5 X 5.5 / 40 pages / $5
154 Division St. #1
Madison WI 53704

This is the first printed issue of Reglar Wiglar in almost ten years, which was regularly produced between 1993 and 2005. Where does the name Reglar Wiglar come from? Chris suggests that a viewing of Errol Morris’ documentary Vernon Florida will reveal all. I remember watching Vernon Florida back in the day but don’t recall the reference.

Reglar Wiglar is a lot of fun, bordering on goofy at times. Chris includes a history of his various jobs and income producing projects over the years.Then silliness ensues: fictional “forgotten” American music masters are profiled; there is a list of the top ten numbers (yes, numbers) and a cartoon featuring … a cassette tape. Cool stuff for people who grew up reading Mad Magazine. 

Sunday, July 27, 2014

Publications Received - July 2014

Publications Received July 2014

Mishap #33
from Ryan Mishap
PO Box 5841
Eugene OR 97405
digest * donation / trade

Zines and books blend together like peanut butter & jelly, so a book-themed zine is one natural bridge between two closely related worlds. Mishap #33 is the 20th anniversary issue of Mishap. Ryan dedicates this issue “to all those punks and zine creators still angry and still enraged in the struggles to make a better world.”

Reading this zine is like having a friend recommend titles you may never have heard of, but sound intriguing. Books like “Shaped by Stories: The Ethical Power of Narrative” by Marshall Gregory or Judy Pasternak’s “Yellow Dirt: An American Story of a Poisoned Land and a People Betrayed.” Ryan sometimes boils down a fully realized review to a final admonition like “You. Read. Now.”

I’ll be the first to admit that I rarely read fiction (maybe one novel a year), but that doesn’t dampen my enthusiasm for book review zines. Mishap #33 features both fiction and non-fiction in reasonable measure, peppered with gorgeous photographs from Ryan’s recent travels.

More on the zine/book connection  …

Sometimes one’s recent travels involve book hunting in the great musty cathedrals that we bibliophiles worship in. Shelf Life #1 chronicles the book hunting & gathering adventures of Annie & Tim, two people that I think I’d get along very well with. Having spent many years on the quest for elusive titles (pre and post internet) I totally relate to this wonderful meditation on the delights of perusing miles of dusty aisles at legendary bookshops like Strand. Shelf Life #1 is a beautifully collaborative zine and wherelse could you read about a book like American Communities by William Alfred Hinds which chronicles another passion of mine – American communal societies of the past two centuries.  For more information visit

Kevin Oliver sent me two very intriguing black & white collage zines titled (I think) blighted blighter and stay cool in the evil zone #5. Thank you Kevin! Surrealist art pulls us out of our mundane perceptions & these zines succeed in doing exactly that. Zines like this are meant to be experienced rather than described so write to Kevin at 11 Forbes Street Worcester MA 01605.

Paper and Ink Volume 2 is a literary zine centered around the theme of “Home”. There’s a cliché that says that something can be more than the sum of its parts and Paper and Ink illustrates this nicely. The quality of writing in Paper and Ink overall is uneven, but when it is brilliant, it holds beauty and emotional impact like with the quietly powerful story “The Coach Home” by J.E.G. Jennifer Chardon’s “Your Life Is The Story You Keep Telling Yourself” is literally true – our minds decode the world by creating and designing stories about our past, present and future every moment of every day.

Paper and Ink editor Martin Appleby’s vision for this literary journal rings true and resonates – nothing academic or pretentious here, thank Christ. it is a not-for-profit, paper-only zine that you can not download & won’t find on your Kindle (please give away / recycle / destroy your Kindle if you have one. Thank you - fm). For more information check out 

Friday, July 25, 2014


 The officers of the American Amateur Press Association have approved an annual grant in the memory of Lee Hawes which will help ajay’ers publish their zines and journals who may be in need of a little financial assistance. The AAPA Lee Hawes Personal Journalism Grant will cover costs up to $150 toward helping an amateur journalist to get their journal onto ink and paper.

In recent years, the cost of printing materials and maintaining a press have soared, and even desktop publishing has become expensive and prohibitive for many. It is our hope to provide a small amount of financial relief for ajay’ers while stimulating creativity.

In order to apply, AAPA members will need to fill out and submit a request for proposal form by October 1, 2014. The officers will review applications award the grant based upon the scope of the project and financial need. Journals printed with grant funds will be included in the AAPA bundle.

Requests for Proposal forms may be obtained by sending an email to me at or by sending a Self Addressed Stamped Envelope to: Peter Schaub 212 Ladybank Williamsburg VA 23188.

Saturday, July 19, 2014

Time ... and knowing your reviewer

Ye Olde Zine Reviewer has been offline more, dealing with work, life, stress and changes internal and external. When I'm not at work I'm often so exhausted that I fold into a quiet state of existence. Growing older creates its own internal rhythms and boundaries. I'm in the process of awakening to eldership & having my eyes opened in complete horror of what's been disguised as our American culture. It is a path of pain, but also a path of growth.

Therefore, as I endeavour to "spend" my "free" time on this earth more wisely, when I make the time to post reviews on this blog, they will be reviews of zines that ignite and affirm my love for the artform we call zines and zines that speak to my internal ethics. Mostly, rather than posting reviews online, I will be reviewing for paper publications such as Xerography Debt and my APA zine Cuneiform.

So ... dear readers in zineland ... please do not send me zines like Kiss and Tell Volume 2 for review - you're wasting postage. One of the last things I want to spend my time reading or writing about is a poorly written, narcissistic expose of someone's so-called sexual adventures, or lack thereof.

Thank you.

Sunday, June 29, 2014

Zine Nation Issue No. 2

40 pages, color cover, b&w interior, 9.5" X 5.5"

Reading review zines is a passion for me - I love to discover new publications that I haven't heard of. Zine Nation #2 focuses on primarily Canadian zines. There are also interviews with Ghost Pine creator Jeff Miller & others.The reviews here are fully detailed and informative. My one criticism is that this seems to be a review zine for the internet addicted only - with email and web contacts given - no postal mail. Somehow, that feels counterproductive to the zine culture that I love. At least the zines reviewed are paper zines. It's been a decade since the first edition of Zine Nation & I'm hoping that it won't be another decade before we see the next.

Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Long overdue for a posting ...

Let It Sink #7
Jim Joyce
32 pages / half letter
available from

This is a wholly unique zine unlike every other I have ever read.
That statement might be true of any zine, or every zine.
It is certainly true of this one.
I could go on like this. It reminds me of dreamtigers helping Brautigan with his arithmetic.

Let It Sink #7 contains three bodies of work – an excerpt from Pablo Neruda’s memoir, an essay about modern hauntings, and a meditation on prayer. The creator of Let It Sink offers several ways to read the zine with accompanying illustrations. It’s a simple but effective visual / lateral way of experiencing the zine.

Jim Joyce (any relation to you-know-who? Or is that a pseudonym?) knows how to mesmerize with words. Like most new delightful and surprising discoveries, I want to visit previous issues. Where can I find them?  

Sunday, May 11, 2014

Zine Review: Some Notes on Film Vol.1

Some Notes on Film Vol. 1
8.5 X 5.5 / 56 pages / $4.50

First issues of new zines tend to be ambitious, with the creator trying to both convey the thematic content and build the foundation for possible future issues. Some Notes on Film is succinct in both of these aims – it is a zine that is visually beautiful and brimming with exceptional writing. The introductory essay offers one of the most coherent messages regarding the world of websites and blogs vs. the world of print that I have ever read. Some Notes on Film then explores a scene from “The Jerk”, a premise on art-maing proposed by Brian Eno, and much more. This is a substantial work that film lovers and non film lovers can enjoy. If a zine’s mission is to educate, entertain, and expand the reader’s horizons, this one succeeds on every level. 

Sunday, April 27, 2014

Publications Received: The Cultural Aether

Folks at The Cultural Aether blessed me with a good mail day when they sent me three of their illustrious zines to review. Writing about these zines with no accompanying visuals is a challenge: they all feature eye-catching cut and paste collage mixed with thematic text. The most straightforward in this collection is The Doomsday Clock, which is a chronicle from the Bulletin of Atomic Scientists of how close we have come and how close we are to nuclear annihilation. Love and Beauty #1  includes “words to yearn by” with brief or extended quotes, philosophies, conversational fragments related to love, beauty, and the angst of relationships. Here’s one gem: “Immature love says I love you because I need you. Mature love says I need you because I love you.” The centerpiece of The Cultural Aether #5 includes lyrics to It’s a Beautiful Day’s song “Time Is”, surrounded by gorgeous clock and hourglass graphics. Each page is a journey unto itself.

Essential reading.

Send some love & cash to:

The Cultural Aether
2440 E. Tudor Road #364

Anchorage AK 99507

Monday, April 21, 2014

Publications Received: Hand Job Zine #4

The folks at Hand Job Zine sent me a wonderful note along with this issue of their lit-zine. It reads in part: "We are a UK zine on our fourth issue, and like to keep the righting very British so there may be a few dubious slang words in there for you. You seem to share our love for the printed word though, which is the main reason for sending this. We need to keep it alive instead of reading on migraine inducing machines."

Amen to that. Hand Job Zine is definitely keeping the tradition of underground lit zines alive and well. There's poetry, art, short fiction, and too much cool stuff to mention in this issue - made with real sweat and tears by real hands and real people. I love the anarchic feel that is captured in these pages. No gods, no masters. No shit. Hand Job is the kind of zine that stops talking about freedom and revolution and actually does something.

For more info try:

Monday, April 14, 2014

Zine Review: Les Carnets de Rastapopulos #10

The zine community is celebrating two decades & ten issues of Les Carnets de Rastapopoulos. This edition features articles, collages and sketches from the past ten editions and is a joy to explore cover to cover. Les Carnets de Rastapopoulos is delightfully old-school, typed on a typewriter, images cut by hand, everything pasted up and mailed via the postal service. Issue # 10 is bilingual (French & Anglais) and delves into cool Czech pop music 45s, a primer on Rockall, literally a rock in the Atlantic Ocean, and a description of other remote islands. That article alone had me intrigued by geography - I love obscure and forgotten places. Les Carnets de Rastapopoulos is wondrous in every sense of the word. Here's looking forward to the next ten issues!

Les Carnets de Rastapopoulos is FREE upon request - I suggest sending some $ for postage, zines, postcards, a letter, etc. to:

2-7 Larch Street
Ottawa Ontario
Canada K1R6W4.

Tuesday, April 1, 2014

Zine Review - Library Ghosts

This cool mini-zine by Celia Perez has disappeared from etsy since I purchased it so I'm not sure where to find a copy. Library Ghosts is a complete delight, celebrating the magical wonders found in libraries that have mostly passed into history. Celia also includes a piece of microfilm and a card from a card catalog with this zine! I love libraries so ... I wish I had 100 copies of this to give to my friends.